Workloads

Definition

A workload is a backup job that protects one or more Virtual Machines according to a configured policy. There can be as many workloads as needed. But each VM can only be part of one Workload.

Create a Workload

To create a workload do the following steps:
    1.
    Login to the RHV-Manager
    2.
    Navigate to the Backup Tab
    3.
    Click "Create Workload"
    4.
    Provide Workload Name and Workload Description on the first tab "Details"
    5.
    Choose between Serial or Parallel workload on the first tab "Details"
    6.
    Choose the VMs to protect on the second Tab "Workload Members"
    7.
    Decide for the schedule of the workload on the Tab "Schedule"
    8.
    Provide the Retention policy on the Tab "Policy"
    9.
    Choose the Full Backup Interval on the Tab "Policy"
    10.
    Click create
The created Workload will be available after a few seconds and starts to take backups according to the provided schedule and policy.

Workload Overview

A workload contains many information, which can be seen in the workload overview.
To enter the workload overview do the following steps:
    1.
    Login to the RHV-Manager
    2.
    Navigate to the Backup Tab
    3.
    Identify the workload that shall create a Snapshot
    4.
    Click the workload name to enter the Workload overview

Details Tab

The Workload Details tab provides you with the general most important information about the workload:
    Name
    Description
    List of protected VMs
It is possible to navigate to the protected VM directly from the list of protected VMs.

Snapshots Tab

The Workload Snapshots Tab shows the list of all available Snapshots in the chosen Workload.
From here it is possible to work with the Snapshots, create Snapshots on demand and start Restores.
Please refer to the Snapshot and Restore User Guide to learn more about those.

Policy Tab

The Workload Policy Tab shows gives an overview of the current configured scheduler and retention policy. The following elements are shown:
    Scheduler Enabled / Disabled
    Start Date / Time
    End Date / Time
    RPO
    Time till next Snapshot run
    Retention Policy and Value
    Full Backup Interval policy and value

Filesearch Tab

The Workload Filesearch Tab provides access to the power search engine, which allows to find files and folders on Snapshots without the need of a restore.
Please refer to the File Search User Guide to learn more about this feature.

Misc. Tab

The Workload Miscellaneous Tab shows the remaining metadata of the Workload. The following information are provided:
    Creation time
    last update time
    Workload ID
    Workload Type

Edit a Workload

Workloads can be modified in all components to match changing needs.
To edit a workload do the following steps:
    1.
    Login to the RHV-Manager
    2.
    Navigate to the Backup Tab
    3.
    Identify the workload to be modified
    4.
    Click the small arrow next to "Create Snapshot" to open the sub-menu
    5.
    Click "Edit Workload"
    6.
    Modify the workload as desired - All parameters can be changed
    7.
    Click "Update"

Delete a Workload

Once a workload is no longer needed it can be safely deleted.
To delete a workload do the following steps:
All Snapshots need to be deleted before the workload gets deleted. Please refer to the Snapshots User Guide to learn how to delete Snapshots.
    1.
    Login to the RHV-Manager
    2.
    Navigate to the Backup Tab
    3.
    Identify the workload to be deleted
    4.
    Click the small arrow next to "Create Snapshot" to open the sub-menu
    5.
    Click "Delete Workload"
    6.
    Confirm by clicking "Delete Workload" yet again

Reset a Workload

In rare cases it might be necessary to start a backup chain all over again, to ensure the quality of the created backups. To not recreate a Workload in such cases is it possible to reset a Workload.
The Workload reset will:
    Cancel all ongoing tasks
    Delete all existing RHV Snapshots from the protected VMs
    recalculate the next Snapshot time
    take a full backup at the next Snapshot
To reset a Workload do the following steps:
    1.
    Login to the RHV-Manager
    2.
    Navigate to the Backup Tab
    3.
    Identify the workload to be deleted
    4.
    Click the small arrow next to "Create Snapshot" to open the sub-menu
    5.
    Click "Reset Workload"
    6.
    Confirm by clicking "Reset Workload" yet again
Last modified 1yr ago