Snapshots

Definition

A Snapshot is a single TrilioVault backup of a workload including all data and metadata. It contains the information of all VM's that are protected by the workload.

Creating a Snapshot

Snapshots are automatically created by the TrilioVault scheduler. If necessary or in case of deactivated scheduler is it possible to create a Snapshot on demand.

There are 2 possibilities to create a snapshot on demand.

Possibility 1: From the Backup overview

  1. Login to the RHV-Manager

  2. Navigate to the Backup Tab

  3. Identify the workload that shall create a Snapshot

  4. Click "Create Snapshot"

  5. Provide a name and description for the Snapshot

  6. Decide between Full and Incremental Snapshot

  7. Click "Create"

Possibility 2: From the Workload Snapshot list

  1. Login to the RHV-Manager

  2. Navigate to the Backup Tab

  3. Identify the workload that shall create a Snapshot

  4. Click the workload name to enter the Workload overview

  5. Navigate to the Snapshots tab

  6. Click "Create Snapshot"

  7. Provide a name and description for the Snapshot

  8. Decide between Full and Incremental Snapshot

  9. Click "Create"

Snapshot overview

Each Snapshot contains a lot of information about the backup. These information can be seen in the Snapshot overview.

To reach the Snapshot Overview follow these steps:

  1. Login to the RHV-Manager

  2. Navigate to the Backup Tab

  3. Identify the workload that contains the Snapshot to show

  4. Click the workload name to enter the Workload overview

  5. Navigate to the Snapshots tab

  6. Identify the searched Snapshot in the Snapshot list

  7. Click the Snapshot Name

Details Tab

The Snapshot Details Tab shows the most important information about the Snapshot.

  • Snapshot Name / Description

  • Snapshot Type

  • Time Taken

  • Size

  • Which VMs are part of the Snapshot

  • for each VM in the Snapshot

    • Instance Info - Name & Status

    • Instance Type - vCPUs, Disk & RAM

    • Attached Networks

    • Attached Volumes

    • Misc - Original ID of the VM

Restores Tab

The Snapshot Restores Tab shows the list of Restores that have been started from the chosen Snapshot. It is possible to start Restores from here.

Please refer to the Restores User Guide to learn more about Restores.

Misc. Tab

The Snapshot Miscellaneous Tab provides the remaining metadata information about the Snapshot.

  • Creation Time

  • Last Update time

  • Snapshot ID

  • Workload ID of the Workload containing the Snapshot

Delete Snapshots

Once a Snapshot is no longer needed, it can be safely deleted from a Workload.

The retention policy will automatically delete the oldest Snapshots according to the configure policy.

You have to delete all Snapshots to be able to delete a Workload.

Deleting a TrilioVault Snapshot will not delete any RHV Snapshots. Those need to be deleted separately if desired.

There are 2 possibilities to delete a Snapshot.

Possibility 1: Single Snapshot deletion through the submenu

To delete a single Snapshot through the submenu follow these steps:

  1. Login to the RHV-Manager

  2. Navigate to the Backup Tab

  3. Identify the workload that contains the Snapshot to show

  4. Click the workload name to enter the Workload overview

  5. Navigate to the Snapshots tab

  6. Identify the searched Snapshot in the Snapshot list

  7. Click the small arrow in the line of the Snapshot next to "One Click Restore" to open the submenu

  8. Click "Delete Snapshot"

  9. Confirm by clicking "Delete"

Possibility 2: Multiple Snapshot deletion through checkbox in Snapshot overview

To delete one or more Snapshots through the Snapshot overview do the following:

  1. Login to the RHV-Manager

  2. Navigate to the Backup Tab

  3. Identify the workload that contains the Snapshot to show

  4. Click the workload name to enter the Workload overview

  5. Navigate to the Snapshots tab

  6. Identify the searched Snapshots in the Snapshot list

  7. Check the checkbox for each Snapshot that shall be deleted

  8. Click "Delete Snapshots"

  9. Confirm by clicking "Delete"