Required RHV User roles

TrilioVault for RHV is integrating into the RHV Manager GUI and is using the RHV users with their assigned RHV roles.

TrilioVault is integrating its own RHV roles, which need to be assigned to users. Only users with the superuser role do not require a special TrilioVault role.

All TrilioVault roles only have the RHV Administration Portal login permissions. No further permissions inside RHV are required to fulfill the TrilioVault tasks. This is possible, as the TrilioVault Appliance is using the during configuration provided admin account to send any API commands towards the RHV API itself.

Backup User role: TrilioBackup

The TrilioBackup User role enables a user to:

  • Create Workloads

  • Modify Workloads

  • Take Backups

  • Cancel ongoing Backups

  • Delete any Backups

The TrilioBackup User role is not able to:

  • Reset Workloads

  • Start a Restore

  • Delete a Restore

  • Cancel an ongoing Restore

  • Download a Report

  • Do a File Search

  • Do a File Restore through Snapshot Mount

Restore User role: TrilioRestore

The TrilioRestore User role enables a user to:

  • Restore Backups

  • Delete Restores

  • Cancel an ongoing Restore

  • Do a File Search

  • Do a File Restore through Snapshot Mount

The TrilioRestore User role is not able to:

  • Create Workloads

  • Modify Workloads

  • Reset Workloads

  • Take Backups

  • Delete Backups

  • Cancel ongoing Backups

  • Download a Report

Reporting User role: TrilioMonitor

The TrilioMonitor User role enables a user to:

  • Monitor the status of Backups and Restores

  • Download a Report

The TrilioMonitor User role is not able to:

  • Create Workloads

  • Modify Workloads

  • Reset Workloads

  • Take Backups

  • Delete Backups

  • Cancel ongoing Backups

  • Restore Backups

  • Delete Restores

  • Cancel ongoing Restores

  • Do a File Search

  • Do a File Restore through Snapshot Mount

Backup Administrator User Role: TrilioBackupAdministrator

The TrilioBackupAdministrator User role enables a user to:

  • Create Workloads

  • Modify Workloads

  • Reset Workloads

  • Take Backups

  • Delete Backups

  • Cancel ongoing Backups

  • Restore Backups

  • Delete Restores

  • Cancel ongoing Restores

  • Do a File Search

  • Do a File Restore through Snapshot Mount

  • Download a Report

‚Äč